Running On Spark!!!

I am a selfish person!  Really – I use this energy drink, instead of coffee or other carbonated energy drinks, called spark.  I love it – it’s only 45 calories and is packed with vitamins and minerals and yes, admittedly, caffeine.  And recently my husband, Dale has also discovered that he likes it too.  I have seen him a few times, helping himself to my spark.  Sometimes he’ll just take a drink out of my cup that is already made – sometimes he asks for some to make for himself.  It is so funny!  My reaction inside to this is ridiculous!  I admit it – totally and completely, I am being stupid and silly and selfish – but I DON’T like sharing my spark with him.  I will purposely keep it in my car so when he gets up and asks for some – I can say, “sure hon – it’s in the car, go help yourself,” knowing full well he’s most likely not going to go outside that early in the morning to go retrieve it.  I’ll bring it in and even HIDE it!!  Oh my goodness, listening to myself here – I’ve got a problem, (laughing).

 Now – maybe my stinginess is due to our 3 year dispute over our sleep schedules.  We have different sleep schedules and habits.  I’m up at 4:00 am, 4 days a week and the other 3 days I’m up at 6:00 am.  I NEED sleep – but even if things go really, really well that day – the soonest I can get into bed to go to sleep is 9:30.  But most typically – I’m getting to bed between 10 and 11.  Also – I need quietness and darkness to be able to sleep.  Now – I’ve got an I-phone, which I love and I’ve got this great application called sleep cycle that tracks my hours of sleep – and over the 256 nights – I’m averaging 5.5 hours of sleep.  PATHETIC!  No wonder I’m tired!!  No wonder I love spark!  Last night was particularly bad – Ashton, needed a ride home from work at 10:30 at night, so I had to go pick him up, got home around 11:00 and Dale was sound asleep already and snoring – ugh!  I should have just slept in a different room – but I didn’t, I tried to just deal with it and as you can see in the chart,

: ( bad sleep night

I didn’t deal with it so well.  By the time I actually FELL asleep – I got about 3 hours.  THANK GOODNESS FOR SPARK!  (click here for Spark details) – by the way, my absolute favorite is the pink lemonade (soooo good!)   Now, Dale’s  sleep schedule and habits are opposite.  He needs the t.v. on, falls asleep between 11 and midnight and gets up around 7:30.  So, up until very recently, like THIS week – I’ve been the one on the short end of the stick.  Sleeping with ear plugs, eye masks, etc – just doing what I can to get the little sleep available.  BUT the tides have turned!  Aside from last night – I’m now getting 6.5 – 7.5 hours a night, WOO HOO!!  Oh happy day!

Okay – my commitment to you is…. I’m going to try to be more selfless and share my spark, lovingly, with my husband.  In fact – I know caffeine isn’t necessarily good for us and it would be good for me to cut down anyway, especially now that I’m getting more sleep. : )

If you want to give Spark a try – click here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

