Reminder to self… READ OFTEN!! By Becky Fisher

This is a reminder message to myself…Read often!!
I woke up this morning feeling a bit queasy. I wake up on weekdays at 4:45 A.M. I teach an early morning religion class to high school students. My body hasn’t adjusted to the going back to school schedule after winter break. I’m dragging!
Some days (actually most days) the last thing I want to do is exercise. I’ve had a few of those days this week. One of the things I’ve learned this past year was that even when we don’t feel great, or we think we’re too tired, we need to exercise. I’m not saying to exercise when you’re really sick. You need your rest, but like this morning, I knew I should do it. I had a choice. I could feel queasy working out, or feel queasy staying home. At home I would be thinking about working out, and then feel guilty all day for not doing something, and then I‘d be bummed because I didn’t earn more calories to eat more food.
I know that even making the trip to the gym is creating a habit. I know that once I get there and do a little something, that I’ll feel better. I know doing something is better than nothing! The biggest thing I’ve learned is that I will be happy with myself for making the effort. Of course, once I get to Carrie’s, I decide “oh I’ll try it”. I get into the workout, my stomach gets ignored. An hour later I feel awesome! Many hours later, I still feel great!
This queasy morning I had excuses but I turned them into positive results. I’m excited because I burned 500 calories this morning and get to eat something good! Good bye fat!
When I let the excuses win, which they often do…It drives me crazy because I know all of these things!! So why do I do it? I do it because it’s easier at the moment. Just like it’s easier to eat the wrong thing at an impulse moment instead of walking away. The truth is that its habit for me to do the easy thing, or eat the easy thing. I’m a great procrastinator! One of the challenges of my life… I’ve got to do the things that take work, and not avoid them. I’m very good at finding “other things to do”, and putting things off. (cleaning house) Putting things off has put me 30 lbs heavier than I was just 2 years ago.
Let’s not make things harder for ourselves! Let’s count our calories now so we don’t have to count sugar levels because of diabetes later. Let’s work out now so we don’t have worry about serious health issues that could’ve been prevented later. Lose some fat now so you don’t have to buy another size bigger, again! This is so hard to do, but we are learning to do the hard stuff day by day! Go do something positive…I’m going to read this post to myself tomorrow when I don’t want to exercise and clean my house again! 

This entry was posted in Accountability, Becky, exercises, Fitness Program, general health, InBody, Metabolism, nutrition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reminder to self… READ OFTEN!! By Becky Fisher

  1. Neoma says:

    Amen, Becky. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings. Creating a habit of doing the right things instead of the wrong things is so key. Keep up the good effort.

Leave a Reply

