Is the Honeymoon Over?

I’m realizing I’ve gotten to a point where I’m feeling like maybe the “honeymoon is over” I’m home with a sick kiddo today so I didn’t go to the gym. I’m not feeling that great either so I didn’t mind too much. I haven’t posted anything for a while, so I thought I’d better get typing before I lose momentum, which I feel I’m doing. I’m not sure why I’m losing momentum. This is usually where I burn out when I’m on a diet etc. After the excitement stage is over the real world sets in. I’ve learned that about myself though… I’m a good starter, but not a good finisher. (I have many unfinished projects in my closets!) I have trouble enduring to the end when it comes to diets. It’s trying to get out of the mindset that there is an end to this, and at the conclusion, I’m done. That is not the case. I’m trying to make life long changes! There is no end to this journey. It’s self talk that “today, I am going to take care of myself, no matter what my weight is, and that my weight isn’t the determining factor to my health” I’m working on changing habits, (logging) and there isn’t an end to that. I tend to be a perfectionist when it comes to doing things. “If I can’t do it right, don’t do it at all!” WRONG! I’ve struggled with getting my food logged for the past several days. Something I’m learning is that when we go out to eat, or go to someone’s house, calorie counting isn’t easy. I went to my mom’s for dinner on Sunday, and there was a lot of food. We had a nice ham dinner with au gratin potatoes, desserts, a yummy ham sauce. I have no clue how much is a serving of that sauce or potatoes or how many calories is in it. It was overwhelming to try to figure it out, so I didn’t try. Yesterday, I ate breakfast as Woodinville Cafe, which I had a scrambled, potato thing..no clue how many calories!! I was okay with that but what happens is that I find when I become casual, I’m more casual the next day, and next day…and it’s easier not to log, and easier to eat more than I should, thus the downward spiral begins. It’s easy to let logging slip from my mind. I wonder why that is. Am I subconsciously trying to get out of it? I have a hard time remembering if it isn’t in my face. I also know when I eat poorly that I don’t feel well, and its harder to make the effort to exercise and record my food. Am sure a lot of people feel this way. Of course it will show on the scale and that does not motivate me! The good thing for me is that I have a blog and a trainer to help me get back on track. So when we have a couple of hard days we can stop what we’re doing, recognize it, and change it before it goes out of control. I’m happy about this because I’m not allowing myself to keep falling, instead today, I’m blogging and recording my food. It’s not easy to see that I ate Ding Dongs! but it’s the truth. I only ate one and I’m stopping! That is the other thing that has been good for me, the last couple days, is that even though I’ve been casual, I have still been very mindful of serving sizes. I’ve had a lot of food in front of me lately, and I’ve been able to walk away from some of it, or make good choices regarding it. NOTE TO SELF: I really don’t like the feeling of not knowing where I stand with calories! I hope I remember to read that again when I’m struggling! One of the cool things about blogging is that we can reread our own posts and learn from ourselves when we forget. (that is why I make notes to myself) So right now I’m thinking about my super hero post and trying to picture myself on the tracks pushing against the out of control locomotive…AGAIN! luckily it wasn’t going too fast, or too strong and just needed a little nudge. Whew! We caught it in time 🙂 I just needed to blog. Dear Reader, So I guess part of this blog today is to ask for your help and encouragement. I am struggling right now since the “honeymoon is over”. Things are good but the excitement isn’t enough to keep me going. I gotta keep the positive self talk going. There is usually something we can get excited about! Please help me find it! We can’t stay on honeymoons forever but we can enjoy our daily routines too. I’m glad you’re there because it is really helping me!! I know if I wasn’t blogging I’d be slipping much worse, so thank you. Also just by typing this, I feel better, more motivated, and I feel some momentum coming on!

About bekfisher

I Grew up in Issaquah, WA. Mother of 6...Alex, Blake, Carlie, Darbie, Evie, and Garrett. Grandma to Ella and happily married to Paul for 24 years! I love reading, teaching, oceans, dolphins, nature, movies with the family, and my church
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

